巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話系列之: 民間合作加快推動可再生能源轉型


2022-08-04

低碳想創坊的巴黎氣候監察計畫自開辦以來,迄今已經舉行了八場社區對話,首七場我們分別邀請了劏房居民關注團體、福利界、社區護理界、戶外工作人員、傷殘人士、精神病患者和婦女團體,探討香港氣候適應及復原力的現狀,期望落差和對策。今次,我們把焦點轉到氣候變化減緩,而可再生能源是減緩工作的重要一環。我們與參加者一起檢視香港可再生能源發展的現況、政策、所遇到的困難及推進方案。參加者都認為今次社區對話促進了同業之間互相溝通和合作的空間,為將來民間推動可再生能源轉型打下基礎。

低碳想創坊開辦巴黎氣候監察計劃,其中重要一環是通過社區對話的方式,推動各界加深認識並提升能力應對氣候變化所帶來的危機。對話貫徹了『公義轉型』的概念,提倡在氣候變化下推動社會轉型時,必須兼顧到可能受失業、經濟結構調整和物價上漲影響的市民的利益。『公義轉型』原則也強調參與性和包容性的氣候適應過程,不同的利益相關方面臨著氣候變化帶來的影響,他們的參與和聲音必須受到保障和尊重。

秉承首七場社區對話所貫徹的『公義轉型』原則,低碳想創坊於2022年7月13日與10家組織包括學者、政策智庫、企業和環保團體等 合共11人,舉行了第八場社區對話。與會者都認為現時香港可再生能源發展緩慢及滯後,希望可以集思廣益,思考如何集合民間力量加快推動相關發展。

政府2050碳中和目標欠缺路徑

2021年10月,特區政府發表了《香港氣候行動藍圖2050》,承諾到2035年提升可再生能源在發電燃料組合中的比例至7.5%至10%,到2050則為15%。然而,低碳想創坊去年發表的《巴黎氣候監察氣候行動報告2021》,指出上述目標過於保守,實現措施欠具體,而且以現時可再生能源的發展速度難以追上2050年實現碳中和的願景。
一直關注香港可再生能源發展的同業在會上分析了箇中原因。香港可再生能源的天然潛力優厚,包括太陽能和風力,而且擁有建立多年的金融體系,有助相關基建的投資和融資,大有條件提升可再生能源比例。問題是政府沒有大力發展的決心,香港主要兩家電力公司壟斷電網,其他投資者難以進入市場,而且行業發展欠缺規範。就以日漸普及的太陽能光伏裝置為例,自2018年推出上網電價政策以來,從當初只有1兆瓦的裝機容量,已提升至2021年底的267兆瓦,粗獷式發展使業界良莠不齊。太陽能光伏裝置工程在外判市場價低者得的機制下,行業欠缺專業準則,工程質素參差,工人薪酬福利和培訓也欠缺應有保障。
加強可再生能源策略和專業性有助行業發展
與會者亦舉出了其他鄰近地區的可再生能源政策和做法,包括新加坡、日本、中國內地和台灣的例子,指出了政策和技術創新、投資融資和行業標準等方面都存在很多可能性,香港可以進步的空間還有很多。儘管要突破現有政策和市場的限制並不容易,與會者對世界各地可再生能源發展都素有研究,分享了很多有用的意見和建議:

1.    政策上,《香港氣候行動藍圖2050》應該每五年進行一次公開檢討,包括制定年度可再生能源目標,並確保清晰而具體的減碳路徑,而在內地雙碳目標(即2030年碳達峰、2060年碳中和目標)下,香港如何通過與內地城市加強能源合作,達致2050年碳中和,也是當前需要解決的問題。而且,我們不應該只停留在建築節能、屋頂太陽能和離岸風能,也應該持續探索水塘太陽能及其他可再生能源裝置的可能性。

2.    制度上,可再生能源基建也需要進行必要的環境影響評估,包括土地和離岸海域規劃策略的評估,以減緩或消除可能出現的生態系統影響,以及增強氣候適應和復原能力。而太陽能光伏板一般有壽命期限,由於內含多種重金屬的有毒物質,生產商亦有責任妥當回收處理,以符合循環經濟原則。

3.    行業上,正如上面提到,我們必須提高行業的專業性,例如成立可再生能源議會加強人才培訓和資格認證,制定工作指引,而大學也可以設立相關學位課程。女性和弱勢社群也適合從事可再生能源行業,所以上述培訓也應該伸延到他們。此外,從業人員也可成立行業工會,保障工人權益。

4.    技術上,由於可再生能源供應受氣象條件制約,並非處於長期穩定狀態,因此銜接電網時需要進行調校,以避免出現供電不穩定,或造成大量可再生能源浪費的情況。此外,除了電力聯網,我們也應該考慮其他電力來源,尤其是蓄電池的發展,綠氫燃料便是其中一個最受矚目的例子。
長遠而言,與會者認為應該持續探討開放電力市場的可能性,讓私人投資者和公眾參與可再生能源基建及供應電力,既可以加強能源供應的多元性,也通過調校電網系統兼顧電力供應的穩定,有利於可再生能源持續發展。

項目團隊

對話設計及總促導員:梁栢偉 (高級社工、項目經理)
副促導員:何紫晴(項目主任)、董頴詩(項目總監)、譚恩翹(實習生)、張凱童(實習生)
促導員顧問:王荔茵
項目總顧問:莊陳有(聯合創辦人及行政總裁)

作者簡介

李育成(低碳想創坊研究員)

附錄

低碳想創坊邀請了不同團體參加第八次社區對話(排名不分先後):

連結

1.    巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話#1:劏房居民可以如何應對氣候變化的威脅
2.    巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話#2:極端天氣嚴重影響弱勢社群及福利和護理人員
3.    巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話#3:立法規管戶外工作 紓緩工人承受極端天氣之苦
4.    巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話#4:傷殘人士也是應對氣候變化的重要一員
5.    巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話#5:結合科研與社區行動支援精神病患者應對氣候變化
6.    巴黎氣候監察系列之社區對話#6:氣候行動與低碳社會轉型必須融入女性視角

Social challenges and climate action series: Civil Society partnership accelerates the transition of renewable energy


2022-08-04

Since the CarbonCare InnoLab’s Paris Watch Programme was launched, six community dialogues have been held so far. The first six dialogues were focused on the residents of subdivided housing, the welfare and the community health care sectors, outdoor workers, the persons with disabilities and mental illness, and women’s groups. This time, we turn our focus to climate change mitigation. Renewable energy is an important part of mitigation efforts. Together with the participants, we reviewed the current situation, policies, difficulties encountered and promotion plans of renewable energy development in Hong Kong. All the participants believed that this community dialogue has promoted the space for mutual communication and cooperation among peers, and laid the foundation for the civil society to promote the renewable energy transition in the future.
    
An important part of the CarbonCare InnoLab’s Paris Watch programme is to, through community dialogues, promote a deeper understanding of all walks of life and enhance their ability to deal with climate crisis. These dialogues put the principle of "just transition" at the core, and advocate that the interests of citizens who may be affected by unemployment, economic restructuring and rising prices must be taken into account during the transition. The principle of "just transition" also emphasizes the participatory and inclusive climate adaptation process. The participation and voices of various stakeholders, who are facing the impacts of climate change, must be guaranteed and respected.
Adhering to the principle of "just transition" throughout the first seventh community dialogues, CarbonCare InnoLab held the eighth community dialogue on 13 July 2022, with a total of 11 people from 10 organizations, including academics, policy think tanks, enterprises and environmental groups.  All the participants agreed that the current development of renewable energy in Hong Kong is slow and lagging behind. It is hoped that they can brainstorm and think about how to gather civil society forces to accelerate the energy transition.

The government's 2050 carbon neutrality target lacks a robust pathway

In October 2021, the Hong Kong SAR Government launched the "Hong Kong Climate Action Plan 2050", which pledged to increase the proportion of renewable energy in the power generation fuel mix to 7.5% to 10% by 2035, and 15% by 2050. However, the “Paris Watch Hong Kong Climate Action Report 2021” published last year by CarbonCare InnoLab pointed out that the above targets are too conservative. It is difficult to gain the momentum to achieve the renewable energy targets and carbon neutrality in 2050.
The participants who has been paying attention to the development of renewable energy in Hong Kong analysed the policy failure at the meeting. The potential of renewable energy in Hong Kong, including solar energy and wind power, and the financial system that has been established for many years can facilitate the investment and financing of related infrastructure and substantially increase the proportion of renewable energy. However, the problem is that the government does not have the determination to develop vigorously. The two main power companies in Hong Kong monopolize the power grid, making it difficult for other investors to enter and activate the market, and the development of the solar energy industry is not well-regulated. Take the increasingly popular solar photovoltaic installations as an example. Since the introduction of the feed-in tariff policy in 2018, the installed capacity has increased from only 1 MW to 267 MW by the end of 2021. Such development has led to a mix of positive and negative issues in the industry. As solar photovoltaic installation projects are outsourced to those with the lowest market price, the industry lacks professional standards, the quality of projects varies, and workers' compensation, benefits, and training are also lacking due guarantee.

Strengthening renewable energy strategies and expertise will help the industry develop

Participants also cited renewable energy policies and practices in other neighbouring countries and regions, including Singapore, Japan, mainland China and Taiwan, and pointed out that there are many possibilities in terms of policy and technological innovation, investment financing and industry standards. There is still much room for improvement. Although it is not easy to break through the constraints of existing policies and markets, the participants have studied the development of renewable energy around the world and shared many useful opinions and suggestions:

1.    In terms of policy, the “Hong Kong Climate Action Plan 2050” should be publicly reviewed every five years, including setting annual renewable energy targets and ensuring a clear and specific carbon reduction pathway. With the 2030 carbon peaking and 2060 carbon neutrality targets in mainland China, Hong Kong needs to tackle the inconsistency and strengthen energy cooperation with mainland in order to achieve the city’s carbon neutrality by 2050. Moreover, we should not stop at building energy efficiency, rooftop solar and offshore wind, but should also continue to explore the possibilities of floating solar panels in reservoirs and other renewable energy installations.

2.    At the institutional level, building renewable energy infrastructure also requires necessary environmental impact assessments, including assessments of land and offshore water planning strategies, to mitigate or eliminate possible ecosystem impacts, and to enhance climate adaptation and resilience. While solar photovoltaic panels generally have a lifespan, manufacturers are also obliged to properly recycle and dispose of them to comply with the principles of circular economy due to the toxic heavy metals contained in the panels.

3.    At the industry level, as mentioned above, we must enhance the professionalism of the industry, such as establishing a renewable energy council to strengthen personnel training and qualification certification, formulate work guidelines. Universities can also set up related degree programs. Women and disadvantaged groups are also suitable for the renewable energy industry, so the above training should also be extended to them. In addition, employees can also set up trade unions to protect workers' rights.

4.    Technically speaking, since the supply of renewable energy is usually constrained by meteorological conditions and therefore varies from time to time, it is necessary to make adjustments when connecting to the power grid to avoid unstable power supply or curtailment of a large amount of renewable energy. In addition to connecting to the power grid, we should also consider other sources of power, especially the development of energy storage. Green hydrogen fuel is one of the most high-profile examples.

In the long run, the participants believed that the possibility of opening up the monopolised electricity market in Hong Kong should be continuously explored, allowing other private investors and the public to participate in renewable energy infrastructure and power supply. We should take into account making the power grid system more flexible, when enhancing the diversity of energy supply. Settling power grid issues will be conducive to the sustainable development of renewable energy.

Project Team (in no specific order)

Dialogue Designer and Chief Facilitator: Thierry Leung (Senior Social Worker, Programme Manager)
Deputy Facilitator: Blaire Ho (Programme Officer), Alissa Tung (Programme Director), Angela Tam (Intern), Crystal Cheung (Intern)
Facilitation Advisor: Lilian Wang
Project Advisor: Chong Chan Yau (Co-founder and CEO)

Author’s Profile
Mr. Kevin Li is the Researcher for CarbonCare InnoLab.

Annex 
CarbonCare InnoLab invited different groups and experts in Hong Kong to participate in the eighth community dialogue (in no specific order):

Links
1.    Social challenges and climate action #1: Empowering residents of subdivided houses in Hong Kong
2.    Social challenges and climate action #2: Extreme weather hit hard welfare and health care workers and the vulnerable people
3.    Social challenges and climate action #3: Legislation is the only way to relieve outdoor workers' suffering from extreme weather
4.    Social challenges and climate action #4: Our society must include persons with disabilities in tackling climate change
5.    Social challenges and climate action #5: Combining research and community action to support people with mental illness in tackling climate change
6.    Social challenges and climate action #6: Climate action and transition to a low-carbon society must incorporate women’s perspectives